Navigation

Quick Links

Leaving Cal Poly?

Avoid a transcript hold. Complete your online exit interview requirement in your last term.

Fee Payment Schedule & Policy 2016 - 2017

Important Notice Regarding Fee Amounts

The CSU makes every effort to keep student costs to a minimum. Fees listed in published schedules or student accounts may need to be increased when public funding is inadequate. Therefore, CSU must reserve the right, even after fees are initially charged or initial fee payments are made, to increase or modify any listed fees. All listed fees, other than mandatory systemwide fees, are subject to change without notice, until the date when instruction for a particular quarter has begun. All CSU listed fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by the Board of Trustees, the Chancellor, or the Presidents, as appropriate. Changes in mandatory systemwide fees will be made in accordance with the requirements of the Working Families Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act (Sections 66028–66028.6 of the Education Code).

Fee Due Dates

Registration and Tution Fees are charged at the time of registration with the exception of early fall term enrollment. Fees not paid or deferred by a financial aid award by the due dates listed below will become past due and a registration hold will be placed on the account that prevents adding or swapping classes until the past due balance is paid. If you register or incur additional fees after the due dates, a 4 calendar day due date will apply.

Students not deferred by financial aid may be cancelled from all enrolled classes if past due fees are not paid by 4:00 p.m. on the class cancellation date. See Financial Aid Deferral below for more information.

Date Fall 2016 Winter 2017 Spring 2017
Fees Charged

Current Students 07/11/2016

New Freshman 08/08/2016

New Transfers 08/15/2016

At time of registration 11/07/2016 - 12/08/2016
At time of registration 02/21/2017 - 03/16/2017
Fee Due Date (if not financial aid deferred)
08/22/2016
12/08/2016
03/16/2017
Class Cancellation (financial aid deferred accounts exempt)
09/01/2016
12/16/2016
03/24/2017
1st Financial Aid Disbursement
09/19/2016
01/02/2017
03/27/2017
Financial Aid Deferred Fees Due
09/20/2016
01/03/2017
03/28/2017

Back to top

Estimated Fee Amounts

Quarterly Registration and Tuition Fees for Terms Fall, Winter, Spring

Tuition and Mandatory Fees for California Residents Enrolled in More Than 6 Units

Fee Description

All Colleges Except Liberal Arts

Liberal Arts College of Science and Math
Undergraduate Graduate Undergraduate Graduate

Teaching Credential

Tuition Fee
$1,824.00
$2,246.00
$1,824.00
$2,246.00
$2,116.00
Campus Academic Fee*
382.19
382.19
264.19
264.19
382.19
Student Success Fee
271.35
271.35
271.35
271.35
271.35
Associated Student Fee*
104.83
104.83
104.83
104.83
104.83
Instructionally Related Activities fee*
102.21
102.21
102.21
102.21
102.21
University Union Fee*
231.17
231.17
231.17
231.17
231.17
Health Services Fee
102.65
102.65
102.65
102.65
102.65
Health Facilities Fee
3.30
3.30
3.30
3.30
3.30
Cal Poly ID Card
3.30
3.30
3.30
3.30
3.30
Total Registration and Tuition Fees - CA Residents
$3,025.00
$3,447.00
$2,907.00
$3,329.00
$3,317.00

Back to top

Tuition and Mandatory Fees for California Residents Enrolled in 6 Units or Less

Fee Description

All Colleges Except Liberal Arts

Liberal Arts College of Science and Math
Undergraduate Graduate Undergraduate Graduate

Teaching Credential

Tuition Fee
$1,058.00
$1,302.00
$1,058.00
$1,302.00
$1,228.00
Campus Academic Fee*
228.19
228.19
169.19
169.19
228.19
Student Success Fee
271.35
271.35
271.35
271.35
271.35
Associated Student Fee*
104.83
104.83
104.83
104.83
104.83
Instructionally Related Activities fee*
102.21
102.21
102.21
102.21
102.21
University Union Fee*
231.17
231.17
231.17
231.17
231.17
Health Services Fee
102.65
102.65
102.65
102.65
102.65
Health Facilities Fee
3.30
3.30
3.30
3.30
3.30
Cal Poly ID Card
3.30
3.30
3.30
3.30
3.30
Total Registration and Tuition Fees - CA Residents
$2,105.00
$2,349.00
$2,046.00
$2,290.00
$2,275.00

*Combined fee amount. Fee will appear as multiple lines in the student account activity.

Back to top

Student Involvement and Representation Fee (SIRF)

The optional $2 Student Involvement and Representation Fee is charged in the fall and spring terms. Students may opt out of the fee until the term's census date by clicking the OPT OUT icon next to the charge in the Student Center - Account Activity. Last day to OPT OUT for Fall 2016 is 10/12/2016 and Spring 2017 is 04/21/2017. For additional information see Student Involvement and Representatin Fee.

Non-Resident Tuition

If you are not a resident of California, you must also add $248 per enrolled unit to the total amounts above. Example of undergraduate not in the College of Liberal Art enrolled in 15 units:

  1. CA Resident Registration and Tuition Fees $3,025.00
  2. Non-Resident Tuition $248 x 15 units = $3,720.00
  3. Total quarterly charges $3,025.00 + $3,720.00 = $6,745.00

College of Business: Graduate Professional Program Fee

Students pursuing an Accountancy, M.S; Business Administration, M.B.A; Business and Technology, M.S., must also pay $169 per unit Professional Program Fee.

Commencement Fee

A Commencement Fee will be charged to Undergraduates who have an Expected Academic Progress percentage (EAP %) equal to or greater than 75% and have not already paid the Commencement Fee. For Graduate and Credential students, the Commencement Fee will be charged in the first term of enrollment or subsequent term. The Commencement Fee is charged once for each degree program. The current Commencement Fee amount is $90. For additional information see Commencement Fee.

International Students

International students must also pay $300 per quarter International Student Fee and will be automatically enrolled in health insurance based upon enrollment. The fee for the health insurance premium will be charged to the student account. Health insurance premiums vary by term based upon coverage period. For additional information and amounts see Health Insurance & Immunizations for International Students.

Miscellanous Course Fees

Miscellanous course fees are charged for materials and services used in course instruction. List of appliable courses and amounts [PDF].

Late Registration and Late Add Fees

If you enroll in classes after registration rotation appointments, and are not already enrolled in at least one class, a $25 late registration fee will be charged to your account and must be paid with your other registration and tuition payments. A $20 per class late appeal add fee is charged when adding courses during the late appeal period.

On-Campus Housing and Dining

Fee Waiver Amounts and Information

For additional information on fee waivers and sponsored students see Fee Waivers/Sponsored Students.

Back to top

How Much To Pay

  1. View your student account balance in your Student Center after you register or when Fall Term fees are charged.
  2. Access your Student Center in your portal using the Single Click Links or the link on the Money Matters tab. It's important to first view your account balance in the Student Center as this triggers a refresh of the fee calculation and displays the most current data.
  3. Your student account balance will also be viewable on the Money Matters tab, Account Summary portlet.
  4. You are not charged for wait-listed classes until you are actually enrolled in the class. Check your account balance for new charges after you add units or are enrolled from a wait-list.

Back to top

How To Pay

Online Payment (preferred method)

To pay online from your portal, click either the "Make a payment now" link on the Money Matters tab, or the "Make a payment" link in your Student Center.

Alternatively, from outside the portal, see Online Payment Options. Students have an option of creating a separate parent login account for online payments via a CASHNet Parent PIN. See setup guide [PDF].

In Person

Cash or Check: Pay at the University Cashier's office: Building 1, Room 131E. Office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Mailed Check

Make check payable to Cal Poly and mail to:

Cal Poly
University Cashier
Administration 131E
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407

Please allow 10 days for mailing time and include your student ID number on the check. For your convenience, download a Payment Remittance Form.

Note: Before mailing a check, be sure to review the class cancellation dates above. Online payment is the better option especially if the due date is approaching. Payments must be posted to the student account by the due dates to prevent class cancellation and housing and dining late fees.

Back to top

Financial Aid Deferral

Using grants, loans, and/or scholarships as a payment method

Registration and Tuition Fees are automatically deferred for financial aid recipients until the 1st Financial Aid Disbursement Date for the term as listed above. If the financial aid award only partially paid Registration and Tuition Fees, the remaining unpaid balance is considered due the day after the 1st disbursement date to prevent a financial hold.

Automatic financial aid deferral is confirmed by the message ' Not Subject to Cancellation' on the Money Matters tab of your portal next to the balance due.

Housing and Dining Plan charges can also be financial aid deferred based upon the student's request at the time of housing application provided the student has accepted sufficient aid to cover the total amount of registration and tuition fees, as well as the total amount of the housing or dining fees. In June, a review of student requests to defer Housing and Dining Plan charges is completed. If the student has insufficient accepted aid to defer, an email is sent to the student instructing the student to either accept additional aid or to make a personal payment. See Financial Aid for Housing and Dining for more details.

Back to top

Fee Refund Policy

If you decide not to attend a term or drop some units

  • You must drop all your classes including waitlisted classes before the term begins to have your charges fully reversed.
  • If you wait and drop all your classes after the term begins or withdraw after add/drop, your fee charges will be prorated, meaning you will be charged for every day of enrollment, whether you attended classes or not. See the Fee Refund Policy for complete details.
  • Last day to drop some units for partial refund of non-resident tuition and difference between full time and part time fees is the last day of the term's add/drop period. This does not include the late appeal period. See the Fee Refund Policy for complete details.
  • All financial aid, including loans, is contingent upon class attendance. If you drop to zero units or reduce units below required unit levels, your financial aid award may be modified and you may be required to return aid refunded to you.
    Date Fall 2016 Winter 2017 Spring 2017
    Drop All Units - Full Refund
    09/21/2016
    01/08/2017
    04/02/2017
    Drop Some Units - Partial Refund
    10/03/2016
    01/19/2017
    04/12/2017

Back to top